IPL History

IPL or Indian Premier League is the biggest franchise cricketing events in the world cricket in recent time. Since 2008, IPL has been continuing every year in the month of April to May in Indian soil. This platform made possible to bring some of the great players under same roof. Alongside cricking world some of the business man as well as Bollywood starts are taking part of this mega cricketing actions. It has been no longer remaining as a mega cricketing events only but also become business platform for the businessman. It is a win-win situation for the cricketers as well as businessman. In the 2015 IPL season contributed 11.5 billion (US$182 million) to the GDP of the Indian economy, According to BCCI. Duff & Phelps added that the value of brand IPL has jumped to $4.16 billion after the 2016 edition, against $3.54 billion in 2015. This is the first sporting events in the world to broadcast live in YouTube since 2010.

Beginning of the IPL

ILP has been continuing every year during April and may since 2008. It was planted in the 2007, to prevent players from joining the ICL by BCCI with funding provided by Zee Entertainment Enterprises. ICL or Indian Cricket league was declared as a rebel league by the BCCI due to have some legal issues. In that crucial situation, Lalit Modi, Businessman and cricket executive, was tasked by the BCCI to start a new franchise Twenty20 league that would replace ICL.

In terms of getting the owner of the teams, in 24 January 2008, an auction was held with the total base prices of the franchises costing around $400 million. Team was named on the bases of the cities. After completing auction, first IPL teams were Bangalore Royal Challengers, Chennai Super Kings, Deccan Chargers, Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals. Total costing of the franchise were $723.59 million.

Expansions and terminations

IPL has reached the top mount of the cricketing stardom. Therefore every own want to associate with this mega events. In the 2011, 4th season of IPL, tow new franchises Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala joined, declared in previous year. Sahara Adventure Sports Group bought the Pune franchise for $370 million while Rendezvous Sports World bought the Kochi franchise for $333.3 million.

Terminations also taken place during these 10 years long run, in the year 2009 BCCI announced that, 2nd edition winner of IPL would be terminated on 25 October. An auction was held and Sun TV Network winning the bid for the Hyderabad franchise. They declared new team name would be Sunrisers Hyderabad. After suspending two popular teams Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals, it was revealed that Pune and Rajkot would replace Chennai and Rajasthan for two seasons. The teams are the Rising Pune Supergiants and the Gujarat Lions.

Competition format

According to the recently tournament format, eight teams will be participate and each team will be play against each other twice in a home and away match, which is known as a robin round format in the initial league stage. Second round is known as a playoff round; in this round top four teams of initial league stage will be played. Number one and number two teams of the point table will be played against each others to get the first place of the final. On the other hand losing team will get another chance to for the IPL final by playing the second Qualifying match. In the case of number three and four teams of the point table play against each other in an eliminator match and the winner from that match will play the loser from the first Qualifying match. The winner of the second Qualifying match will move onto the final to play the winner of the first Qualifying match in the IPL Final match, where the winner will be crowned the Indian Premier League champions.

Recent Teams

Now eight teams are participating in the IPL. They all are representing a state of Indian and they have their home venue too. Name of the teams of IPL in current time are given bell with some details.

Team Name



Delhi Daredevils


Zaheer Khan

Kings XI Punjab


Glenn Maxwell

Kolkata Knight Riders


Gautam Gumbhir

Mumbai Indians


Rohit Sharma

Royall Challengers Bangalore


Virat Kohli

Sunrisers Hyderabad


David Warner

Rising Pune Supergiant


Steve smith

Gujarat Lions


Suresh Raina

Tournament Winners

Since 2008, every season of IPL have been creating new history and records. Teams are delivering their best to get the title. Winners of this tournament are given below.




Runner Up


Rajasthan Royals

Royals win by 3 wickets

Chennai Super kings


Deccan charger

won by 6 runs

Royal challengers


Chennai Super kings

Super kings won by 22 runs

Mumbai Indians


Chennai Super kings

Super kings won by 58 runs

Royal challengers



Kolkata Knight Riders

Knight riders won by 5 wickets

Chennai Super kings


Mumbai Indians

Indians won by 23 runs

Chennai Super kings


Kolkata Knight Riders

Knight riders won by 3 wickets

Kings XI Punjab


Mumbai Indians

Indians won by 41 runs

Chennai Super kings


Sunrisers Hyderabad

SRH won by 8 runs

Royal challengers



Prize money

Alongside lucrative price money and attractive trophy for the winners individual’s performance is also rewarded. According to the previous records of price money, day by day it has been increasing. The IPL rules mandate that half of the prize money must be distributed among the players.

IPL Governing Council

IPL Governing Council has all the rights to make any changes in the tournament for the betterment of the tournaments. Governing body of IPL in recent time is as follows. The members are Rajeev Shukla, Ajay Shirke, Sourav Ganguly, Anurag Thakur, Anirudh Chaudhry.